What Unreleased Fire Emblem Would You Want To Play Today?

Shin Monshou No Nazo

All right, let me delude myself into believing I have a decent amount of readers that are checking out this blog– now under delusion, I now would like to ask you a pretty simple question: what unreleased Fire Emblem game would you want to play today? Ok, this sounds like a loaded question, so I guess I better go into detail on this.

You see, I understand everyone and their mama is enjoying the hell out of Awakening right now, and I say deservedly so. My biggest fear however, is with its release, what will this mean for the other games in the series? Kilographic had mentioned this a while back about how Awakening probably has locked out newer fans from attempting to try out the older games. I have my fears about trying out any of the older games unless they get an upgrade, and this was before Awakening was even thought up haha. But those are my thoughts. I want to know yours. There just so happened to be 7 games that never reached the West; 5 of them happened to be made in the 90′s! So here’s the deal: you can either choose to share any FE game you’d be willing to play in the comments section, vote in the poll below as well, or do both. I will also share what FE game I’d want to play, and an explanation why.

Fire Emblem: Ankoku Ryuu to Hikari no Tsurugi

Fire Emblem Shadow Dragon and The Blade of Light

System: Famicom

Chances I’d Want To Play This: 15%

My Reasoning:

FEAR!!!!!

No really, it’s that and the simple notion that this is a game on an 8-bit system. You know, that means it has…limitations. And you know, I couldn’t even beat games like Metroid and Kid Icarus so…yeah. I don’t think I’d want to experience lunatic mode 8-bit style (ok, it probably isn’t that bad, but back then, games were hard!)

Fire Emblem: Gaiden

Fire Emblem 2

System: Famicom

Chances I’d Want To Play This: 35%–with a caveat

My reasoning: This would be at the same percentage as FE1 since it’s still going to have the same problems that game had. BUT…out of all the Fire Emblem games, this is the one that is different from every other iteration of the series. It plays exactly like a JRPG, with random turn-based battles, towns, the works — yet features Permadeath, the world map, etc, etc. But for all intents and purposes, it was the Adventure of Link for Fire Emblem. And that alone would get me to try it — if it was remade. I wouldn’t mind seeing that on my 3DS a year from now.

Fire Emblem: Monshou No Nazo

Fire Emblem: Mystery of The New Emblem

System: Super Famicom

Chances I’d Want To Play This: 27%

My Reasoning: All that FE BGM music and 16-bit goodness (epic!!!) cannot convince me to play a game…that I’ve already played. Shadow Dragon is the remake of the Famicom game, and the Super Famicom game is the remake of the Famicom game. Monshou No Nazo has its remake for the DS — Shin Monshou No Nazo, and I’ve played that too. It’s one thing to find out just how limited the Famicom game was, but quite another for the Super Famicom since some of its conventions are the same in Shadow Dragon and Monshou No Nazo.

…Then again, I still have those games rated lower than this so…moot point

Fire Emblem: Genealogy of The Holy War

Fire Emblem Seisen No Keifu

System: Super Famicom

Chances I’d Want To Play This: 100%–with a major upgrade, 60% without it

My Reasoning: Basically, I want to play the Judgral saga games. In seeing videos and hearing people talk about how amazing this game was, it is definitely a game that seems I should go suffer through 16-bit awkwardness and hear death screams. Yes, death screams. But in also seeing just how glorious it looks, it screams like a game I should not be trying to play on my laptop, with no way to calculate math, and some of the little changes the newer FE games have made. I.E, Nintendo, IS, maybe you should consider remaking this game? Let people play as Sigurd and get people to know how awesome he is?

Fire Emblem: Thracia 776

Fire Emblem Thracia 776

System: Super Famicom

Chances I’d Want To Play This: At least 65%, even with an update

My Reasoning: Almost the same as above, except I have to concede that Thracia 776 doesn’t quite appeal to me like Genealogy of The Holy War. I blame Leif. But again, will play if upgraded, but that doesn’t seem likely for us here.

Fire Emblem: The Binding Blade

Fire Emblem The Binding Blade

System: Game Boy Advance

Chances I’d Want to Play This: 50/50

My Reasoning: I’m purely driven to complete the circle — we finally got a taste of Marth after he made his debut in Melee, albeit many many years later — it would finally be nice to close that chapter by commanding Roy’s army against Zephiel and his army. Too bad I’m not so sure I want to find this game and play it, considering it has the worst aspects of the GBA line of FE games (I.E, all of FE6′s flaws were fixed in the later games), and at this point, I think I’ve spoiled myself to death by watching the videos on Youtube. Actually, I think I’m just getting lazy…

Fire Emblem: Shin Monshou No Nazo: Hikari to Kage no Eiyuu

Fire Emblem Shin Monshou no Nazo Hikari to Kage no Eiyuu

System: Nintendo DS

Chances I’d Want to Play This: www

My Reasoning: Of course right when I mention I didn’t feel like searching for FE6 and going through jungles to get it on my computer, I cave and play this game. I have no regrets. It was pretty awesome, and had an awesome translation.

So ok, you know the drill: go comment on an Unreleased FE you wanna play today, or vote, or do both.

About Walters

Fire Emblem fan. Well, almost, since he's only played FE7-FE13. Needs professional help. Now is on Twitter (@FE4vsFE5).

25 thoughts on “What Unreleased Fire Emblem Would You Want To Play Today?

  1. New Mystery of the Emblem is the unreleased one I’m mainly interested in the most, though even if its considered sub-par I’ll still be play Shadow Dragon first to get it in the right order XD Also planning on playing Sword of Seals at some point after too.
    I agree though that the Jugdral series does sound interesting too, but that one isn’t as high on my list.

      • That reminds me that one thing I did find quite nice in FE:A was having both the FE1 and FE3 continent plus the FE:Gaiden continent together in the same game (Even though the Gaiden Continent didn’t do much as I said on the other site). Still nice to fill out the world that way though since they were meant to be the same world at the same sort of time back with FE1 and Gaiden XD From what I read Jugdral as well is the same world too but a different continent and further back in time or something, but I’m not sure exactly.

        • Well technically FE1 and FE3 are the same thing. It was getting the DS remakes of those games to match up (remember, IS loves Marth lol)

          Jugdral as well is the same world too but a different continent and further back in time

          I don’t know about you, but this sounds like I should do a post deciphering the Fire Emblem Timeline. Assuming there is one lol

          • Ahh, sorry a typo in there XD The first FE3 I meant FE2, the Gaiden one, since Valm is the future version of Valentia where Gaiden is set, and Ylisse the future Akaneia.

          • Yeah, I really like games that span multiple timelines, it makes things feel a bit more epic thanks to past history.

            Not sure where you’re going with the complex thing. Could you elaborate a bit more?

          • What if events in games are tied together, in a much larger and epic way. Like the whole of Tolkiens Midgard, only made by a single developer, with a goal of telling a bigger story, by releasing the smaller, large enough in their own way, “events”.

          • Ah, I think I see where you’re going with it. This assumes the writers are competent enough to do that :D.

            …I should probably point out also I think Genealogy of the Holy War and Thracia 776 accomplishes this, but can’t say with certainty since I’ve only watched videos. Need to look into that more.

  2. No. No timelines. You want timelines? No. Go to Zelda for timelines. Leave Fire Emblem out of that crap. Seriously.

    FE12 is pretty cool in game and story. FE6, yeah, it lay the groundwork, but then 7 and 8 improved on it. Let’s hope FE14 does that with Awakening’s story. Let’s also hope FE14 is not a sequel to Awakening. That would be the worst thing ever.

    None of these are “unreleased” to me, as I speak Japanese… so I guess none of them. So I voted for my own Fire Emblem game, Fire Emblem X: Ashley’s House of Horrors.

Leave a Reply

