Bloggers, Start Using WordPress Correctly

Was trying to find a blogging related pic on Google. I guess this is what I was looking for

Was trying to find a blogging related pic on Google. I guess this is what I was looking for

I guess this is another Fire Emblem break post. But needless to say, it’s a simple post that involves talking about WP and making sure you use it properly. Charlmeister is just one of the many people who blog on WP who…don’t know enough about WP. Should you know about WP? Not really. But I will at least outline some things in WP you probably want to know about which will make things easier for you, and easier for me (no seriously, it will).

Read More

Read More

The read more tag is me believing every blogger should use it, and it mystifies me why not a lot of people use it. Do you like scrolling down all the way to read your posts? Do you want your readers to scroll down all the way to read your posts? Let’s just say it will be easier and more convenient if you provide a snippet of your post, get readers interested, and they’ll click on the post. Also, that probably will get people to click on your post as opposed to only scrolling down your home page and you’ll never be able to tell if they clicked on the post or not. This time you’ll know for sure. Overall, this increases readability, and makes for a better designed site.

Insert Custom Character

Custom Characters

What is this feature? Well, if you wanted to write cliche properly but you can’t, well, that’s what custom characters are for! Now instead of writing a word like cliche generally, you can write cliche as cliché. Now you can also write Pokemon as Pokémon.

…But I should point out that you don’t have to do this. This just requires more work. You might want to copy and paste it instead, that might be easier. Speaking of which…

Paste as Plain Text

Paste Plain Text

What the heck is this? I don’t get it! Well, for those who happen to copy from Notepad or from their emails, this is perfect. You can have it formatted into proper WP format, not some jargon filled, jumbled mess. I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t want to read a jargon filled, jumbled mess. This solves the problem.

Paste From Word

Paste From Word

Finally, you may not be comfortable writing posts on WP. So you go write it on Microsoft Word instead. That makes a ton of sense, but just like above, it won’t come out correctly depending on what font is used, etc. Well you can do that, but just click this box, and everything will be A-ok.

Now, some of the advice may not matter depending on the theme. And this is just the basic of basic advice, but some of these features I use frequently, and some bloggers may not be using it correctly. I have demonstrated a few that I think most bloggers need to know. Now, if you want to know more about WP’s features…

Help

That is one way. Now let me go back to getting more supports in Fire Emblem Awakening.

About Walters

Fire Emblem fan. Well, almost, since he's only played FE7-FE13. Needs professional help. Now is on Twitter (@FE4vsFE5).

10 thoughts on “Bloggers, Start Using WordPress Correctly

  1. I like people to suffer from insanely long ramblings nobody cares about. Why did you reveal the existence of that button to those who didn’t know about it? You’re the worst torturer ever, Walters.

  2. I would use the Read More feature on all of my posts but it just doesn’t seem practical for the short blurbs I often write -.-;

    Nice article btw (y)

Leave a Reply

