Thinking About That Underrated Fire Emblem Game…

I tweeted this last week:

And now, all of a sudden, I start to begin to think about a Fire Emblem game that can be considered underrated.

Now saying what FE game is underrated is not entirely all that easy. After all, I believe the supposed metric for a game to be considered underrated would be:

  • Actually a legit great game
  • But said great game doesn’t get talked a lot because of some annoying game issues or story issues or…overlooked somehow.
  • And in this context, I’m talking about a game in a long running franchise.

I thought about this more as I continue my slow, slow journey of beating Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon on Hard (Level 1). I think I’m finally starting to come around to this game. It still has issues for me (especially when it comes to its characters), but all of a sudden, I don’t think it’s as bad (well, it never really was BAD) as most (and that includes me) have ensued. One reason why is I’ve become used to the map and its layout. The other is to stop being so goddamn intimidated by the opponents. Ok sure, there can be good reason to be intimidated, but as long as there’s an understanding of superiority and what units to use, there’s nothing to be worried about. The only thing to be concerned though with is those units with arrows. They’re not all that useful for you, but they seem to be a major pain for me when they hit my flying units…

Anyways, since I’m somehow attempting to play through all the FE’s I have, it’ll be a while before I can really say for sure what would be the most underrated Fire Emblem for me. I do know that Fire Emblem 7 and Fire Emblem: Awakening can’t be considered for most underrated (because I said so). Well, if you choose to do so that’s fine with me. I’ll just laugh secretly in the sha–I mean I’ll accept your decision with fake smiles.

….I’m doing this wrong, so I’m just going to take my leave now.

About Walters

Fire Emblem fan. Well, almost, since he's only played FE7-FE13. Needs professional help. Now is on Twitter (@FE4vsFE5).

2 thoughts on “Thinking About That Underrated Fire Emblem Game…

  1. I think fire emblem: shadow dragon is *decent.* As I’ve said before, I don’t like it as much as FE3 because I don’t think it represents as much of an improvement over its predecessors as FE3 did, but I think some poor design choices on Nintendo’s part hampered what would otherwise be a fairly well-regarded game. They should have found an artist besides Masamune Shirow (they made a good choice with the No More Heroes guy for FE13) and they should have done a better job on the sprites. The graphics for FE13 are just sort of unappealing, which turned people off from the game.

    • Well, despite my gripes about it, I played Shadow Dragon in one sitting the first time. The big thing was replaying it again. And again. Which I’ve been prone to do for just about every FE game. Just not this one. Until now at least. But yeah, it still has a ways to go before I can really consider it good. Maybe if I manage to beat Hard level 2…

Leave a Reply

