So Let’s Look Back At Our Fire Emblem Smash Bros Predictions!

Fire Emblem Marths lol

So many people named Marth in Fire Emblem…geez…

So with me thinking this is gonna be it for Fire Emblem reps in Super Smash Bros for Wii U and 3DS, it makes perfect sense to look back, and see exactly how we all did in predicting who actually make the game. Some were more accurate than others.

Speaking of accurate…

The Five Candidates From Fire Emblem to Join The Smash Bros. Universe

Holy shit was I accurate. Well, for the start at least. Ike, My Unit (Robin), and Lucina were in my predictions list. They all made it into SSB4. If I was smarter, I would have included Marth in the list, but I did have characters I thought would be more off the wall (like Tharja and ANNA! ANNA WOULD HAVE BEEN THE BEST IN THIS GAME I hope she gets in somehow in some form).

  • Luckyo7 considered Nephenee (PoR/RD), Edward (RD), and Tharja (Awakening) had a chance. Welp, maybe not so much!
  • Kaxzc listed Chrom and Lucina as expected, with Tiki, Gaius, and Robin as his wish list. He got his expected and one of the characters in his wish list. Basically he was also right, just like me!
  • Ashley predicted Oliver (PoR/RD) would make it. Maybe at this rate, his theme will return instead.
  • burning8trxx predicted Marth and Ike. He/she was correct! And yes, I look foolish as usual!!!
  • Silentium picked Micaiah. Well…yeah. Thing is, chances were low at the start. I think they increased slightly since Robin is a magic user, and Sakurai could conceivably add a straight mage user…but yeah, it’s not looking likely.
  • Andimidna had a laundry list of characters he could see in SSB4. In the end though, the top three he listed as likely (Chrom, Lucina, Robin) made it in! We’ll have to see after that.
  • MagcargoMan predicted Marth, Ike, Robin, and Tiki would be in SSB4. Well, three out of four ain’t so bad? Then again, while Tiki was shown as a trophy, does that completely eliminate her? Probably, but I’m saying there’s a chance…

So yeah, I’m curious since I’ve seen this thrown around on the interwebs: Is 4 FE reps too many? Should this be it for FE reps? What do you think about the characters in general (for example, it seems Ike has blue flames now?!?)? Whatever ya got, let me know!

About Walters

Fire Emblem fan. Well, almost, since he's only played FE7-FE13. Needs professional help. Now is on Twitter (@FE4vsFE5).

22 thoughts on “So Let’s Look Back At Our Fire Emblem Smash Bros Predictions!

  1. Just as a disclaimer when I take shots in the dark I end up being relatively near the mark. Ha! I cant wait to play as The Avatar! (I cant get used to calling him Robin because he wasn’t introduced to me by his default name). I’m super excited for this game now.

    -Kaxzc

  2. What’s so impressive about predictions anyway. Do you like to feel validated? It comes to a point where you end up caring more about the stuff surrounding the game than the game itself, I guess.

    I don’t really care how many “reps” are from however many games. I’m amazed with Namco-Bandai on board, they don’t have an in depth custom character creator and such.

    That would, you know, solve everyone’s “I want fuckable character A and B” inferiority complexes. He kinda tried with Miis, but…

  3. It’s highly unlikely, but it would be a nice touch for the 3DS version to show Robin as the one you customized in the game. But that seems like it would be very complicated.

    I can still dream, though. =P

  4. Hey Walter, it’s been ages. I’ve been meaning to drop in ever since Robin was announced (I watched the reveal live, woo!), but I’ve been distracted by stuff like reading forums about Smash even though I’m not participating in them. :P

    Thanks for mentioning me in this list, and I’m surprised I got 3/4 correct. To be honest, it wasn’t so much a prediction and more of a wishlist, but I was adamant about Marth returning (and Ike: http://genealogyvsthracia776.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/marth-returns-to-smash-brosomg-that-hd-upgrade/ but my support for him was mostly on other sites), so I guess I still “predicted” someone. Regardless, having Marth and Ike return, and getting Robin is win for me.

  5. Also, that picture’s hilarious, but I assumed at this point Ike ascended to Marth/Roy status where people who don’t play FE but play Smash know who he is.

  6. “So yeah, I’m curious since I’ve seen this thrown around on the interwebs: Is 4 FE reps too many? Should this be it for FE reps?”

    I’m probably gonna be crucified for saying this on a Fire Emblem blog, but I think 4 is too many for Fire Emblem.

    If we have a look at how roster distribution is done in the games, you’ll notice that series get reps based on how big they are. That’s why Mario, Zelda and Pokemon get the most characters in each game; because they are Nintendo’s biggest franchises. Mario currently has five reps in Smash 4, so series with 4 reps would have to be something significantly big, but not as big as the aforementioned three; something like Donkey Kong or Kirby for example. Fire Emblem, while getting a boost due to Awakening, isn’t as big as series like DK and Kirby, and only has 13 games under it’s belt (and two of them are remakes). It was big enough to deserve three characters, but giving four feels disproportionate to when you see the only franchises to get more than it are The Big Three. This is the other main problem I have with Lucina’s inclusion (besides being a clone). By being a newcomer instead of Marth’s alt, Fire Emblem is now disproportionally represented in the roster. Being his alt would mean she is still technically playable, and FE would still have three reps.

    Ironically, Fire Emblem was underepped in Brawl. It easily warranted a third rep, but Star Fox got 3 instead (even though it had 5 games at the time when FE had 10).

Leave a Reply

