If Fuuin No Tsurugi (Fire Emblem 6) Had Been Released In America…

Fire Emblem Roy

Dude, why didn’t us Westerners get your game officially ;_;

In Part II of my What is Fire Emblem series coming this week, at the end of it I wonder what would have happened had Fire Emblem: The Binding Blade (Or Sword of Seals, or Fuuin No Tsurugi, or Fire Emblem 6) been released just not long after Super Smash Bros. Melee had come out. For the purposes of keeping the series somewhat on point I didn’t touch on it too much in the post, but instead just gave a general statement about that issue. So as I talk somewhat briefly on this subject now, a few things I want to keep in mind:

  • I guess I will limit my knowledge to just US, though I am aware of it getting released elsewhere, but I’m relating my experience involving Melee released over here^^
  • Obviously revisionist history is revisionist history. This never happened, so oh well.

Now for some context:

  • Super Smash Bros. Melee had been released in JP November 21, 2001.
  • It was released in North America December 3, 2001 .
  • Fire Emblem: The Binding Blade was released in JP March of 2002.
  • Roy, the main Lord of FE6, basically starred in Melee as advertisement for a game that had yet to see a release at all.
  • The GBA made it’s debut June of 2001.
  • The first game in the series to be released in the US, Fire Emblem 7 (Rekka No Ken), came November 3, 2003.

The proposition is simple: where would the Fire Emblem franchise be had FE6 been released while the Smash Bros. phase was going on? Now, it’s not like there weren’t legitimate reasons for FE6 to not be released in the US — aside from one point I make in my Part II post, one I didn’t add is the amount of translation it would take for that game. Needless to say, it’s a lot of work, especially considering that FE6 has a lot of elements that were unfamiliar to Western gamers. Of course, NoA probably also weren’t so sure if it would sell very well, hence why they went with Advance Wars instead, maybe to test things out.

But I guess I digress. In the end, I think NoA should have struck while the iron was hot. Generally speaking when something good happens you want to try and capitalize on the good as far as you think you can. What instead was done was the good that came with Marth and Roy appearing in Super Smash Bros. Melee was diluted by the time FE7 came out. By that point, the curiosity probably waned, we moved on, and once FE7 was slated for a Western release gamers were excited, but probably not as much as they could have been had an announcement been made at E3 2002, and especially since it didn’t star neither Roy or Marth. So my thinking is had FE6 seen a release, I think Awakening would not be seen as it seems to be in some circles to be the most accessible game in the Franchise; or maybe instead of seeing as that, it might have sold even more than it did last month.

Fire Emblem 6 Lilina

Let’s just say I found this and it looks hot. *cue laugh track*

But I guess that’s just me wondering. So I ask whoever reads this: If Fire Emblem 6 had been released after Melee, how would Fire Emblem History change?

About Walters

Lonely Fire Emblem fan. Almost a FE apologist.

4 thoughts on “If Fuuin No Tsurugi (Fire Emblem 6) Had Been Released In America…

  1. It would allow people to appreciate some of the subtleties in FE7’s story even more in seeing how it connects to this game!

    It would also allow them to actually play the game Roy is in!

    Great Lilina picture, too!

    • Yeah, that’s what I did miss too. I get to the end, that dude Zephiel shows up all adult like in the end, has that evil look, and then…nothing. Of course, for JP players, they already get the subtleties. Them lucky bastards ;_; But I wonder if more people would have played FE though had it been released then. As always, will dream of what really could have happened to FE 🙂

      • You must not have done all the side stuff that you need to get the best ending, since there’s a few more levels after that!

        You could probably find it in translation somewhere, me and a few others understand Japanese so it was not as bad for us!

        I’m sure it would’ve done well! People hyped from Smash Bros. and all!

Leave a Reply

