Left For Dead: Hard, Maniac, & Lunatic Modes in Fire Emblem

I was looking for something related to this post. Note the "was" part.

I was looking for something related to this post. Note the “was” part.

Tired of the static Fire Emblem modes where all you do is just try and outwit your opponents and you’re usually stronger than them in stats? Actually, you’re probably not, considering most of you just like it the way it is, and you want to keep your players alive. Well, too bad. In past FE games — or mostly the ones that never got released in the West —  there was no difficulty levels, but the game was hard anyways. Starting with the unreleased in the West Fire Emblem: The Binding Blade for the GBA, an option to make it harder surfaced…

Let’s just say since then, things have gotten a bit crazier since.

If you’ve been involved in the Japanese gaming scene before or you’ve seen videos of Touhou, the difficulty for games can range from the usual standards to “THESEGUYSARELOCO!!!” Fire Emblem was no exception. Somewhere out there, there are players who are crazy (and talented) enough to want to test their strategic and game breaking knowledge. I can only guess that’s why Intelligent Systems chose to do the one thing that might be considered sane by those people: coming up with new difficulty levels. It only got worse from there. The GBA line was mostly safe, as it only had Hard mode as its highest difficulty (though in the West it was nerfed compared to the Japanese editions). Then it tread new territory for the console games. Path of Radiance had some silly mode called Maniac. Let’s just say that never came to the West, and was replaced by Easy Mode. Then Radiant Dawn came and we also got Maniac as a disguise called Hard Mode. I don’t want to be the bearer of bad news, but let’s just say all’s fair in love and war (so no crying about how many times you lost that chapter). If it was possible though, it got worse after that. For the two DS Fire Emblem games, not only was there difficulty levels, you could set the difficulty levels from 1-5 on Hard Mode. Then for Shin Monshou No Nazo, it introduced Lunatic Reverse. We all know that here in the West as Lunatic+ (Fire Emblem Awakening).

So what’s the big deal with these levels? Well, the biggest deal is of course, their insane difficulty. Each game in the series took the difficulty steps further than it maybe should have. The standards in general is to have more enemies on a map, with higher stats, better weapons, and an inherent desire to kill your units with ease. Then of course you have a mode like Lunatic+ where the enemies attack first on each turn. How does one beat these modes? Well, the first thing is you need to be a major M and deal with the fact that you’ll be resetting a lot. The other thing is for the early parts of the game, you just have to accept that a certain strategy will be the only way to beat the chapter. The last thing you’re gonna need is a lot of luck. And I mean a lot of it.

But don’t take my advice. I mean, I have yet to actually beat any higher difficulty mode except for Hard in Awakening. I’m pretty sure there are players out there who can detail the best ways to deal with the modes better than I can. So how about you share your strategies in dealing with them?

About Walters

Lonely Fire Emblem fan. Almost a FE apologist.

7 thoughts on “Left For Dead: Hard, Maniac, & Lunatic Modes in Fire Emblem

  1. You sir have bigger balls than I do. I will never do higher difficulties because I feel like the game is judging me for being a N00B. I’m not sure where Game Freak was going with “Hard Mode” in Pokémon but its there. but since I’ve played Pokémon since Red and Blue if I have the option I will choose hard mode from the beginning because its the same game again and again with more polish. until its not. X and Y on 3DS. 0_o
    Glad youre having fun with other FE games. Awakening was my first FE game and I loved it from the moment I loaded.

    -Kaxzc

    • I feel like the game is judging me for being a N00B.

      No it’s not. It’s up to you whether or not you want to try and test your might on a higher difficulty level. The game does not judge, since games (well, most of them) are made with certain players in mind 😉

      “Hard mode”

      Wait a moment Pokemon has a hard mode what version?!?!?

      • White 2 & Black 2 its part of the cross version promotions. its bad because it forces you to restart the game and who in their right mind restarts a Pokémon game just to do that and if you don’t have the other version to store your Pokémon you’re obviously not going to do that.

      • The Difficulty Levels: “I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what you want. If you are looking for an easy game, I can tell you you won’t find it here. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career in games. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you just play Normal Mode, that’ll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.

Leave a Reply

