Initial Impressions of Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn

Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn

Well, it seems when I brought Radiant Dawn and played it, I apparently had things to say about this game. So…let’s see…I guess this is 2007, 2008ish? (Probably 2008) I was what, maybe in high school? So it seems I had Fire Emblem passion in me at a younger age than now. So here, let me share with you what I wrote in my school notebook, and if you’ve played Radiant Dawn, you tell me what you thought of it as a whole.

…Oh, be warned, I seemed to have been pretty immature when I wrote this.


Coming off of playing the easy Sacred Stones and not playing Path of Radiance all that much, I was looking forward to the Wii sequel of Path of Radiance. Not surprisingly, Radiant Dawn was not well received by the critics. I say not surprisingly since the last two Fire Emblem games had their scores decreased compared to the first game in the series, and it centered on the fact that it played the same for Sacred Stones and the graphics for Path of Radiance were awful. But no matter, I would get this series anyways

“Wait, why does my game freeze? Did I get a defective disc I never get a defective disk” is the words that came out of my mouth as the game froze when I tried to carry over my Path of Radiance save file to Radiant Dawn. Apparently, in doing research, because I’m not so good at FE and tried to upload my easy file, RD froze. I wanted to upload my files and get the bonuses!!! So now I have to send my disc over to Nintendo to get that fixed. This is wrong!!! I wanted to play it….

Finally, I can play Radiant Daw now

Radiant Dawn is the worst Fire Emblem game ever. The balance is broken, the story is ****, the music is awful, the maps are retarded, the starting characters are the worst characters ever, I mean, seriously, they die in one hit, the difficulty is too high, Micaiah is by far the worst main character ever why Nintendo why what are you doing? I can’t play another chapter. There’s no way this game gets any better story wise and all, I think Fire Emblem is starting to become overrated, man I’m so disappointed why does this game suck so much


I should probably note that I don’t know what chapter it was that drove me to this state, but if I had a guess, it might have been Chapter 3 where Micaiah gets captured, her friends break in, and they tried to escape. I wonder when I picked this game up again…was it after Brawl lol

About Walters

Lonely Fire Emblem fan. Almost a FE apologist.

25 thoughts on “Initial Impressions of Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn

    • The edited version: I was at least 90% certain Radiant Dawn was an awful game and probably stopped trying to play it at one point. Something called me back to it though. And despite all its flaws, I had fun with the game in the end.

  1. The dub for the cutscenes movies in RD were horrible! And I don’t really like Ike as the lord of the game. I don’t know why people in the west worship him so much ^^ Ike this…Ike that…ugh.

    And I agree with you about Micaiah. She’s pretty much a sue– when I played RD it took a lot for me to actually train her and use her *shakes head*

    FE’s quality dropped so bad during PoR and RD, and with Shadow Dragon’s low sales…no wonder Shin Monshou no Nazo didn’t get localized ;___; Which is a shame, really. I find Shin Monshou no Nazo to be very enjoyable, compared to the Gamecube/Wii version.

    • WE LIKE IKE! WE LIKE IKE! WE LIKE IKE! Well, in Ike’s defense, it probably helped that he was in SSBB. You know, kind of how a lot of people like Roy because he appeared in SSBM. That is what I’m going with since it seems well thought out!

      Shin Monshou No Nazo was awesome. I really should get around to writing about that sometime…

  2. “Radiant Dawn is the worst Fire Emblem game ever. The balance is broken, the story is ****, the music is awful, the maps are retarded, the starting characters are the worst characters ever,”

    You sure you weren’t playing Awakening?

    • No…I’m pretty sure this was written in 2008ish or something, for reasons that still mystify me (I thought I was smarter than this back then), and even today, I can actually see why this isn’t talked about as a great Fire Emblem game. And even though I love it now, I still know this was a flawed Fire Emblem game

  3. Hmm… RD is probably one of my favorites, but it can’t be played without PoR. Great music, brillant, different and original maps and an amazing, well thought story that makes me think. I don’t mind the lack of supports, since many other FE games also don’t have them, and I really like Micaiah. People think she’s a Sue because of her powers and because of her charisma over the people of Daein, but other than that, what’s Sueish about her?? She’s so attached to her country, that she listened to a voice in her head (well, a voice that’s more than a voice) that told her to kill countless injured laguz, she still makes flawed decisions and could use brute, vile tactics for the sake of her motherland. She’s not loved and adulated by everyone she meets, and the bond she shares with Sothe, her flawed attachment to him, that made Daein lose a good moment to crush Crimean soldiers, makes her very human. I bet people hate her because she actually is a pretty competent yet human ~GIRL~ that gets to be in certain high ranks where a ~DUDE~ should be 😐 I don’t see as many people complaining about… say… Ike, but he does get criticized too since people love to hate on Tellius and this game (because it lacks supports wwwwaaah).
    By the way, if Mic is a Sue, then what are Chrom and the Avatar?
    Chrom – gets away with most of his bs, loved by everyone who isn’t evil, gets all of his everything by just being himself and stops developing after *’s death. His flaws are silly and uniteresting, and onky make him interesting before -that- crucial event.
    The Avatar – loved by everyone, always makes flawless, umpredictable and stupid tactics, takes over the story really badly, gets adulated by EVERYONE in the story and in the supports, and HAS. NO. FLAWS. But people love him/her because they love to get loved by flat characters with 2 traits 😐 The Avatar has this lame ass excuse of being you, you can’t touch him/her because he/she has to be perf since he/she is you and she/he has to be good for everyone, then why The Avatar of FE12 doesn’t give me the ~perfect~ vibes?? Why can’t my satanic looking Shaman choose to be a total asshat in the story?? Why does he have to be so perfect?? You can adapt to everyone by also having FLAWS you know. But no. The Avatar and their Sueness get away with everything cuz they’re ~you~!

    I’ve seen people talk trash about poor Mic, yet love Chrom and The Avatar at the same time. I shall NEVER, EVER understand them.
    Also the same people bash RD’s story and praise Awakening’s.

    hahahhahaaaahahhahah
    Sometimes I wonder what do they want from a Fire Emblem story: stuff that makes you actually think about morality, life and war or complete adulation from a cast of obnoxious stereotypes pretending to be funny while getting actual development by talking about pies.
    Awakening lovers must have a low self esteem then lol.

    • I agree with soooooo many points you made. How can you hate RD’s story and love Awakening? How can you hate Micaiah and love Chrom and (especially) MyUnit/Avatar. Thank you so much for this. :’)

      • Conjecture on my part (and I’ll respond to sera’s long reply soon): I think why people prefer Awakening’s story over RD’s is that RD’s story is just broken into parts where A)You had to have played PoR to get any references B)The lack of supports in RD which doesn’t develop any character, which is kind of the point of most FE series, to develop character outside of the main story C)The plotholes that exist with such a large story > the plotholes that exist in Awakening, which is scaled down compared to RD. I say this without playing Radiant Dawn in a while (As I’m tied up with Awakening, FE7, and Shadow Dragon right now), so who knows, someone’s whose played both and has better memory can explain better. As for the characters, I think people hate Micaiah more for just being a poor character (just had to be a mage with low HP) than anything else. And seriously:

        …and love Chrom and (especially) MyUnit/Avatar

        Come on now, it’s hard to hate yourself lol

        • MyUnit/Avatar is not *you* since he/she opens their mouth and ruins everything. If they just shut up their likingness would skyrocket. A lot. The fact they talk makes them a character, and not channeling “you.”

          Unless you’re like that Walters. If you are, then no more doggy biscuits for you.

    • well thought story that makes me think

      I think even as cool as RD’s story was, I’m not sure it was a well thought out story. It’ll be interesting to take a look back into the plotholes of this series soon, but I do remember RD falling short in a few places.

      other FE games also don’t have them

      Let’s see what the West says:

      FE7: Had support
      FE8: Had support
      FE9: Had support
      FE10: Wha?

      Exactly. Especially at that point, it felt like a startling change in gameplay right there.

      People think she’s a Sue because of her powers and because of her charisma over the people of Daein, but other than that, what’s Sueish about her?

      Well I didn’t even know she was considered a Sue until I started this blog lol But ok, let’s go over the definition of a Sue again (from TvTropes):

      “The prototypical Mary Sue is an original female character in a fanfic who obviously serves as an idealized version of the author mainly for the purpose of Wish Fulfillment. She’s exotically beautiful, often having an unusual hair or eye color, and has a similarly cool and exotic name. She’s exceptionally talented in an implausibly wide variety of areas, and may possess skills that are rare or nonexistent in the canon setting. She also lacks any realistic, or at least story-relevant, character flaws — either that or her “flaws” are obviously meant to be endearing.

      She has an unusual and dramatic Back Story. The canon protagonists are all overwhelmed with admiration for her beauty, wit, courage and other virtues, and are quick to adopt her as one of their True Companions, even characters who are usually antisocial and untrusting; if any character doesn’t love her, that character gets an extremely unsympathetic portrayal. She has some sort of especially close relationship to the author’s favorite canon character — their love interest, illegitimate child, never-before-mentioned sister, etc. Other than that, the canon characters are quickly reduced to awestruck cheerleaders, watching from the sidelines as Mary Sue outstrips them in their areas of expertise and solves problems that have stymied them for the entire series. (See Common Mary Sue Traits for more detail on any of these cliches.)

      In other words, the term “Mary Sue” is generally slapped on a character who is important in the story, possesses unusual physical traits, and has an irrelevantly over-skilled or over-idealized nature. ”

      Let’s test this out:

      Exotically beautiful: yeah
      Unusual hair: Silver hair
      Cool/Exotic name: Micaiah
      Exceptionally talented: no, she sucks as a unit lol
      Skills that are rare: Sacrifice, and was definitely overvalued, made into a lot of importance, and then tossed as the story continued
      Unusual/Dramatic back story: was a Branded, was treated harshly
      Canon protagonists all overwhelmed yadada: I think back to the Heron on this one lol
      Close relationship: There’s Sothe, but they don’t get together unless you support them, although I lol at the never before mentioned sister part since this actually happens at the end
      Canon characters reduced to cheerleaders: Damn what else happened to the Dawn Brigade D:
      Solves problems that have stymied them: Well, I can’t say I can remember this part, but I get the feeling this has something to do with Yune…

      Well, I think the point is Micaiah seems to fall into these hated tropes. Ike has the backstory of being a mercenary that ended up losing his father and then had no choice but to take over the Greil Mercenaries, and not everyone was in favor of that (Hi Gatrie and Shinon!)

      Chrom doesn’t have a single special trait like Micaiah does (sacrifice) and neither does the avatar. Chrom and the avatar are undeveloped characters, but you at least have a chance to understand them through the countless (in the case of Avatar too many lol) supports, whereas that opportunity for Micaiah doesn’t happen in RD. And frankly, the only reason they don’t fall into a cheerleading role is because they both happen to take importance in the story, so based on the definition, they’re not a Mary/Gary Sue. Are they good characters? That depends on the person. But they don’t fall into the term defined and reviled by many.

      Oh, and again, it probably doesn’t help that not even talking about her storywise, Micaiah is a horrible main unit, so I think that’s more the reason why she’s not liked lol

      The Avatar of FE12 doesn’t give me the ~perfect~ vibes??

      Well, for starters, I don’t think people who run a no emulator policy played FE12 lol then in addition to that, this was too broken a development (as in, I liked how IS did this), having the avatar serve King Marth. I don’t think you can screw that up lol

      • Chrom has a special trait. It’s being the worst FE Lord. Ever. Oh and his sheer will and determination that takes down Dragon Gods. Yeah. When’s the last time you did that?

        Your avatar meanwhile is the key to the world. The world revolves around them, all the girls and guys want them (even former enemies), and nobody can do anything without you telling them how to do it. You’re also the key to beating the baddie and are the baddie at the same time.

        No special traits? Yeah. Right. This game fucking loves you.

        Oh and you come back from the dead because you made friends. So be sure in real life, to make a lot of friends and then you might just come back from the dead in a few hundred years.

        Then again nobody dies in that game. Just so you can fuck them.

        Terrible, terrible game.

        • It’s being the worst FE Lord. Ever.

          Suuuuureeeee…story wise.

          No special traits? Yeah. Right. This game fucking loves you.

          It loves every body!

          Then again nobody dies in that game. Just so you can fuck them.

          Come on now, even this is going too far. I mean, if you suck as a tactician, everyone dies!…

          …Oh, you mean storywise. I still thought the twist with Emmeryn was good.

          • Yeah. Storywise.

            The only guy you can’t fuck is Validar. A shame. That guy is the best villain ever. Yeah.

            Twist with Emmeryn being that she survived and forgot what the hell “sacrifice” means and can’t even kill herself properly? Yeah. Best twist ever.

        • ^ These are perfectly valid points why the Avatar is a giant Mary Sue.
          It’s not having silver hair and magical healing powers (that would make all the laguz royals Mary Sues, huh?), it’s how the character inflicts the story and its people!

  4. “Exotically beautiful: yeah”

    How is she more beautiful than say, Mia, Elincia, Ilyana, and all the other girls??

    “Unusual hair: Silver hair”

    It’s part of her branded Heron heritage, since she’s the real apostle. Besides, you have people with blue, green, and pink hair. The game’s stupid this time.

    “Cool/Exotic name: Micaiah”

    Sothe, Nailah, Volug, Lethe, Lyre, Kysha, Shinon, Mordecai, Ashnard, Pelleas, Tauroneo, Haar,Tormod, Viika… this is not the full list, but these are all names from Tellius and they all are cool and exotic. Micaiah doesn’t stand out as a cool name between all of those.

    “Skills that are rare: Sacrifice, and was definitely overvalued, made into a lot of importance, and then tossed as the story continued”

    It’s part of her branded Heron heritage, again.

    “Unusual/Dramatic back story: was a Branded, was treated harshly”

    Micaiah was never treated harshly, she just had a dramatic backstory LIKE ALL THE PEOPLE FROM DAEIN because they suffered through the war.

    “Canon protagonists all overwhelmed yadada: I think back to the Heron on this one lol”

    Many girls are beautiful in Tellius, even Nephenee gets told she’s beautiful (she is).

    “Close relationship: There’s Sothe, but they don’t get together unless you support them, although I lol at the never before mentioned sister part since this actually happens at the end”

    I remember calling eachother brother and sister. Besides, Sothe was nobody’s favorite, and he has been looking for her since Path of Radiance.

    “Canon characters reduced to cheerleaders: Damn what else happened to the Dawn Brigade D:”

    It’s not like they praise Mic like ALL OF AWAKENING’S CAST PRAISES THE AVATAR. They just don’t have enough time to talk, and the feelings I got from the Dawn Brigade is that they were comrades, not cheerleaders. Especially on Sothe’s part: he always says his opinions on the matter, and tries to change Mic’s mind.
    Besides, Radiant Dawn isn’t mainly focused on supports: its focus is the main story.

    “Solves problems that have stymied them: Well, I can’t say I can remember this part, but I get the feeling this has something to do with Yune…”

    Micaiah was a better leader than Pelleas because Pelleas was insecure and hardly ever tried to be a leader to begin with, but then he still arised and got his people’s trust.

    But look at all these pointed out traits: they are just -traits-, not actual things that make a character a Mary Sue, such as being loved by both villains and good guys, making perfect actions and drawing the main story all back to them, all things that The Avatar gets! She/he gets loved a lot and in the end, the story is ALL about him/her, ALL OF IT. Radiant Dawn’s story is not about Micaiah, it’s about a whole continent struggling with war, racism, complots, manipulation, trust and unperfect divinities. Micaiah’s actions are not perfect, she makes mistakes, and she’s not even boring or irritating as people want to make her look like.

    “Chrom doesn’t have a single special trait like Micaiah does (sacrifice) and neither does the avatar. Chrom and the avatar are undeveloped characters, but you at least have a chance to understand them through the countless (in the case of Avatar too many lol) supports, whereas that opportunity for Micaiah doesn’t happen in RD. And frankly, the only reason they don’t fall into a cheerleading role is because they both happen to take importance in the story, so based on the definition, they’re not a Mary/Gary Sue. Are they good characters? That depends on the person. But they don’t fall into the term defined and reviled by many.”

    Countless supports that say almost nothing on saisd charactersand develop the characters’ liking of pies.
    Micaiah’s talk time might be much less than Chrom’s and The Avatar’s, but it’s much more important and significative.
    What about Chrom and The Avatar?
    The first develops only in the first arc, then goes around being a perfect lord loved by everyone with no doubts or regrets and clings to The Avatar like a horny dog. The error of his ways are never his fault and he gets all he wants by just being a Prince.
    The second never develops, has a rather annoying personality, never does anything wrong and is praised, cheerleaded by the WHOLE GAME AND ITS CAST OF CHARACTERS. Also, when the second arc kicks in, the game is ALL ABOUT HIM/HER, all of it. Everyone loves him/her and never talks in the story apart from praising him/her. Don’t tell me they don’t, because it’s true.
    How are these not a Mary Sue and a Marty Stu? Both of the endings revolve around the Avatar! All of the crucial scenes in the last part revolve around the Avatar and his/her brilliant tactics! Who gives a shit about all those units that could die! They are still well developed you know: all they do is talk about pies and give half-assed, confused explanations about their past! (Henry is a really wasted opportunity, okay? So are the children)

    “Oh, and again, it probably doesn’t help that not even talking about her storywise, Micaiah is a horrible main unit, so I think that’s more the reason why she’s not liked lol”

    Not. She’s an excellent staffbot and one of the few characters in the Dawn Brigade that can give some damage, especially with her Thani tomes.
    Lyndis is also a pretty bad unit that can have screwed up growths (Level 14 first tier and still has 4 DEF), yet everyone loves her.

    And also, I can’t stand people who whine about the absence of supports: the base conversations are actually pretty nice and the main story is good enough to back up for them. Sure, it would’ve been nice to have them, but time and budget weren’t on IS’ side.
    Besides, with how the game is structured, it would’ve been hard to make them work, at least from part 2 onward, since the story keeps on changing scenarios (which I think is really interesting and beautiful). It would’ve been nice so see one between Meg and Zihark or Aran and Laura, but I don’t get the urge to complain about this loss, also because, you know, FE1, FE2, FE3, FE4, FE5, FE11 and FE12 don’t have them. That’s seven games out of thirteen.

    I’d rather have Radiant Dawn’s base conversations and beautiful story instead of Awakening’s shitty story and its 2934958304 supports about petty things.
    Heck, Edward and Leonardo develop much more in 2 base conversations than the Avatar in one whole game.

    • Well again, I provided conjecture as to why people might consider Micaiah a sue. I again point out I didn’t even know she was a Sue until I started this blog. So take what I said with a grain of salt. You’ll have to go off searching for why people consider her a sue.

      The first develops only in the first arc, then goes around being a perfect lord loved by everyone with no doubts or regrets and clings to The Avatar like a horny dog. The error of his ways are never his fault and he gets all he wants by just being a Prince.
      The second never develops, has a rather annoying personality, never does anything wrong and is praised, cheerleaded by the WHOLE GAME AND ITS CAST OF CHARACTERS. Also, when the second arc kicks in, the game is ALL ABOUT HIM/HER, all of it. Everyone loves him/her and never talks in the story apart from praising him/her. Don’t tell me they don’t, because it’s true.
      How are these not a Mary Sue and a Marty Stu?

      That’s the thing — there was development. It’s apparently just enough.

      Not. She’s an excellent staffbot and one of the few characters in the Dawn Brigade that can give some damage, especially with her Thani tomes.
      Lyndis is also a pretty bad unit that can have screwed up growths (Level 14 first tier and still has 4 DEF), yet everyone loves her.

      You take Thani away from her, she’s bad (and I’m glad she does have it!). Low HP, low def, useless special move that I barely used later in the game, low speed so she can’t double attack, appears way late in Part 3, then changes into Tier 3 at the Endgame (you know, when the game is just about over) — if people say Leif was a character that needed scroll abuse in FE5, then Micaiah needed exactly the same thing in Radiant Dawn. But because she’s a main character, all the stronger units I could have used in RD I had to sit on the sidelines. That doesn’t make me happy (and as you can probably tell, using Micaiah frustrated me) 😦 As for Lyn, maybe the fact that you can double attack with her and increase her strength may be a factor, and maybe her personality is a factor as well. All that said, I also hear people complain about her as well lol

      …FE1, FE2, FE3, FE4, FE5, FE11 and FE12 don’t have them. That’s seven games out of thirteen.

      Yeah. Now take out the ones that didn’t come over to the West and isn’t a remake, and what do you get? FE games where supports were included.

      • The fact is, Micaiah develops too, and much more than Chrom.
        She develops even for the worst: in part 1, she would’ve never used the ruthelss tactics she used in part 3.
        Chrom, as I’ve already said a gajillion times, hardly develops. At the beginning you have a young Lord with anger problems, then you have a young Lord with less anger problems and perfection all over himself.

        “Yeah. Now take out the ones that didn’t come over to the West and isn’t a remake, and what do you get? FE games where supports were included.”

        The problem is that players were so used to supports, it was like an affront for them to remove supports.
        Personally, I find this RD hate FE fans have immature and filled with petty reasons.
        If you had to dislike every FE without supports, you’d be missing a lot of games: supports aren’t the only thing in FE.
        Maybe Awakening gets loved so much because it has a gajillion of them, even if the good ones are rare 😐

        • Not really. It didn’t help that RD was practically inaccessible to those who didn’t play previous FE games (I mean, you had to battle save in this game. Uh, what), and of course, permadeath. And I don’t know, you may have to search around, but I think there’s more reasons why people did not like RD than just merely supports. The game was up and down, and for some, it may have been more down than up.

Leave a Reply

