Hai Guise, Recommend Me Some Manga

MangaNo really, tell me what you’re reading, or maybe not reading, so I can go read it. Don’t recommend me anything licensed. I might as well feel dirty reading something that’s not licensed as opposed to something that’s licensed in America. I’ll check out a chapter and then critique it, as part of my crazy idea of posting manga for the rest of tonight and then Sunday. Because I’m cruel. And unusual. And maybe this is punishment for me missing on a few manga posts this week D:

26 thoughts on “Hai Guise, Recommend Me Some Manga

  1. Walters June 8, 2013 / 5:44 pm

    But first, food calls me.

  2. martianoddity June 8, 2013 / 6:23 pm

    I’m not so sure what you mean by licensed, but you should check out Hajime No Ippo (Victorious Boxers in the west), HunterXHunter, One Piece, Fairy Tail, Toriko, Magi, Naruto, Shaman King, Fullmetal Alchemist, Dragonball, Love Hina, Great Teacher Onizuka (GTO for short), Tough, Parasyte, High School of the Dead, Cradle of Monsters and Blade of the Immortal. They’re all great. I read way too much manga, but if I’ve understood you correctly most of these should be licensed. Toriko, GTO, Tough and Magi haven’t been released in the US if I recall correctly.

    • Walters June 8, 2013 / 7:11 pm

      As in, I can go buy it basically D:

      Well, I see some stuff I can probably take a look at…

  3. Zigfried June 8, 2013 / 10:52 pm

    Well, all of the really good stuff I can think of is licensed, but if you really want to read something unlicensed and feel dirty, how about Sakura Tsuushin (Sakura Diaries)? I don’t know if that’s translated anywhere though.

      • Zigfried June 10, 2013 / 1:59 am

        Haha, I should probably warn you that after the first volume, it turns into flat-out hentai. (I genuinely recommend the anime, though, which is not hentai)

          • Zigfried June 11, 2013 / 12:13 am

            You’re the one who brought up the word “dirty” =D

            It’s one of those things which could have been good if it had stayed in the vein of the first volume instead of degenerating into a cavalcade of… well, you know.

          • Walters June 11, 2013 / 12:31 pm

            Hey, I didn’t mean it in that way haha! Anyways, I will read it, honest…but probably later today D:

  4. say0chan June 9, 2013 / 1:31 am

    Mmm if you like food manga, check out “Bambino!” (Italian cooking) or “Bartender” (bar drinks). I’ll comment with more (replying on phone now) tonight but that would be something to check out.
    Martianoddity recommended a lot of good ones too. ^_^

    • Walters June 9, 2013 / 2:43 am

      Uh, you better hurry up! All my manga posting will be done this weekend! Then who knows after that! xD But ok, shall sample one of the choices you left me…

      • say0chan June 10, 2013 / 5:01 am

        Haha in that case continue with what you have now. :D No worries.

        • Walters June 10, 2013 / 5:51 pm

          Oops sorry. I guess I will make a few more manga posts since I didn’t do it over the weekend. The problem is I think I’ll take a few more recommendations D:

  5. Danna-san June 9, 2013 / 3:51 am

    I’ll go ahead and recommend Assassination Classroom. Or if you want some really dark, grotesque stuff, try the ever obscure Suicide Island.

    • Walters June 9, 2013 / 3:12 pm

      Ok, guess I’ll go try Assassination Classroom…

  6. serafukusmash June 9, 2013 / 7:26 am

    Try out Eyeshield21. Good story and good drawings.

  7. Ashley June 9, 2013 / 8:29 pm

    Adolf by Tezuka Osamu.

      • Ashley June 9, 2013 / 11:55 pm

        Ah, I misread. Thought you were looking for licensed.

        In that case, don’t read any manga, and go out and play baseball or something.

        • Walters June 10, 2013 / 5:48 pm

          It’s raining, and it’s been raining for at least a good two weeks where I’m at :/

          • Ashley June 10, 2013 / 6:39 pm

            … So go out and play baseball in the rain.

          • Walters June 10, 2013 / 6:44 pm

            But I don’t WANT to go to the hospital for playing baseball in the rain AGAIN Ashley. My parents will probably disown me for getting them into that situation again.

          • Ashley June 11, 2013 / 2:09 am

            Then you’ll be forced to stay home and you can play games and read manga and stuff.

            And have a legitimate excuse to waste your life.

  8. serafukusmash June 10, 2013 / 8:36 am

    Uh, then “Alabaster” by Osamu Tezuka.
    Anything from Tezuka really.

    • Walters June 10, 2013 / 5:49 pm

      Tezuka huh? Why are you so big a fan xD But ok, I’ll take a look at some Tezuka stuff!

Leave a Reply

