Fire Emblem…As an Anime?

Fire Emblem animeWhen I set out and started this blog, one of my goals was to cover as many Fire Emblem related things as humanly possible, and well, even cover all the small things that came out that relates to the franchise. So of course, my initial reaction to learning there was a Fire Emblem anime — or more specifically, it’s called an Original Video Animation (OVA) — was not a surprise. The only real surprise was that it was only two episodes.

Now, the 90’s were the time to turn video games into anime. You had Fatal Fury, Street Fighter, Tekken, hell, even Battle Arena Toshinden got an anime, and do you know what Battle Arena Toshinden is without Googling it? You probably don’t. That’s just how easy it was at the time for most games to get turned into anime. Fire Emblem, which was made in 1996, was just one of the many to get an adaptation. Considering the sprawling story of the game it was adapted from (The Akaneia saga games), it sounds like it could have been a grand old time…

…but again, it only got 2 episodes. Um, what? Are you kidding me? I did watch a video which talked briefly about the anime, but when I heard it was only two episodes my initial reaction was there’s no way they’re telling the Fire Emblem story in 2 episodes. And based on what I watched in the video, of course they didn’t. I’ve found a way to watch the OVA, so expect thoughts on Episode 1 Thu and Ep 2 Friday.

But this makes me wonder, would Fire Emblem able to ever get a proper anime? My first reaction would be no. The reason I say this is because in looking at what anime have been going on for the past few years, there’s mostly been 12-13 episode adaptations, with only a few going past that count. With the amount of story in every Fire Emblem game, there’s no way it can be condensed into 13 episodes. It would have to be something that runs pretty long in order to get everything right. And even if it runs long, it can run the risk of managing to fumble details and characters in the games. In fact, that character part would probably be the most dicey, as there definitely needs to be care in what characters are important and what characters will stay as side characters. Heck, maybe some characters might even not appear, which might be a turn off for some (probably not me though).

Otherwise, while a Fire Emblem anime would be nice, it’s hard to see how that would do, and what would be the best adaptation. Admittedly, I only see the games before Fire Emblem 6 that have a chance because there’s no support system like the GBA and up games. But for now, I think I’ll just welcome Fire Emblem for what it is.

About Walters

Lonely Fire Emblem fan. Almost a FE apologist.

17 thoughts on “Fire Emblem…As an Anime?

  1. I think the best way to make a Fire Emblem anime nowadays is to do a new story/side story that takes place in the FE world. Otherwise, the only recent games that I can think of that have become animes usually have small casts like the Tales games, Persona games, etc. It’d be tough to choose which characters to show and which not to if an anime was based on existent FE games.

    • Ehhhhh….that…uhhhhhhh…don’t know how to feel about that….think creating a side story/new story would be kind of crap. But I guess that’s just me.

  2. Awakening is the perfect story for an anime. Determination means you’re fucking invulnerable.

    Have you watched Berserk? The anime is pretty Fire Emblem as it is. You even have your meat head inspiration for Ike.

Leave a Reply

