FIRRREEEE EMMMMBLEMMM! One Year Anniversary!

Fire EmblemWell, actually, the site was officially born on March 18, 2013. However, the very first post was on March 25, 2013.

Man, has it been a wild ride since. And there’s only one thing to do about it: say thanks.

  • I want to thank Fire Emblem: Awakening for inspiring me to start this blog. I may or may not have had thoughts about doing this before, but Awakening was the game that told me, “Stop waffling and start the blog! What’s the worst that can happen?” And so I started it. With my experience in the netherworlds of the internet on my back, I had a plan. It worked out way better than I could have imagined.
  • I want to thank Genealogy of The Holy War and Thracia 776, two games I’ve never actually played. However, just from seeing the videos on Youtube and people talk about it, I felt like that those games, which in general (and along with Gaiden) are the only games in worlds I have yet to explore, would be games I’d love. Maybe one day Intelligent Systems will do a remake of FE4 and FE5, and I will play it endlessly. Maybe they won’t. Maybe when I get a superior PC I’ll finally play the game on an emulator. Whatever the case, I wanted to respect the two games somehow. Having them as the domain url was one of the ways.
  • I want to give thanks to a few bloggers: Cary, Zigfried, & LadyCroft. These bloggers helped me out just a little bit, whether it was answering some of my questions or even doing a guest post on their site. I’m also certain there have been more people who have helped me out, but they’re no longer around anymore. Things manage to change over a calendar year.
  • That’s also why I want to give a special thanks to two readers: Strykerclaw96 and gunlord500. After a decent stretch where I had been producing content on a consistent basis, I soon became inconsistent. Life took over and with no new FE game *looks at SMT x FE* on the horizon, there’s not much to post about. And yes, sometimes I’ve gotten lazy. But these two have managed to still stick around. I don’t know if you guys are crazy or you have no life, but whatever the case, thanks for putting up with me all this time. Y’all are awesome.
  • But of course, I would not have had some fun without every other reader here. Even some past ones. Just look at some of these threads. Well, there’s more, but linking to all of them’s no fun. Whatever the case, even I couldn’t have forseen what would happen, and they all provided their entertainment, one way or another. But the only way it could have happened was because of the people who stopped by. So first time readers and occasional readers or long-time readers, it doesn’t matter. Thank you for contributing to FIRRREEEE EMMMMBLEMMM!

So, I don’t really know what the future holds for this site. There’s stuff IRL I gotta deal with, then there’s the future of FE in general. It seems like it’s an important franchise to Nintendo, and with Awakening saving it essentially, more will come down the road. That means there’ll be more to talk about. But I do want to talk about the past a bit, and indulge in the games that never came over here. Even if I don’t play them. But will I be able to cover them properly? I did have someone who wanted to join the site, but she only did one post and that was it. I wouldn’t mind having another writer or two over to blog Fire Emblem stuff, especially when I’m always away. But you worry about losing control, or something like that I guess.

Well, whatever the case, that’s something I don’t have to worry about too hard. All I know is that this blog is still around, I’m still around. And I hope you guys will stick around too.

About Walters

Lonely Fire Emblem fan. Almost a FE apologist.

24 thoughts on “FIRRREEEE EMMMMBLEMMM! One Year Anniversary!

  1. Happy birthday! Making it through a full year of blogging is a fantastic feat (and now you’ll NEVER be able to stop, haha), so congrats on making it over that hurdle.

    It’s crazy to think about how much things change over the course of just a year. I’ve had barely enough time to manage my own writing, let alone tell others just how great I think theirs is. You’ve got a good thing going on here and I wish you tons of success in the months (and years) ahead.

    • Oh, I can stop anytime. Trust me on this. MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA

      But I’ll do my best not to. Hopefully FE will force me not to.

      Yeah, even I’m surprised at what’s happened in a year. And how so many bloggers have disappeared on my end. Geez!

  2. I hope you keep up this blog! Even if you update like once every few months or something. It’s really nice to see a series like this one represented on WordPress.

    • lol I hope I don’t update once every few months. One week without a post? Meh, ok. Two weeks? I can live it. Three weeks? Pushing it, but fine. A month? I might just want to stab something, but hey, it happens.

      If I do something like not update in a few months, that’d be horrible. Unless I know for sure I just don’t want to blog anymore, I won’t let that happen.

  3. Congrats!
    I always read yer stuff but I’m often too lazy to comment.
    But I enjoy your stuff! And that says a lot as I’ve never played Fire Emblem (yet)!
    Though it’s a series I probably will dwelve into eventually (having read your posts about the franchise).

    Keep on writin’ and happy first birthday you toddler!

  4. Hm. It has been one 12-month cycle since the inception of this Fire Emblem blog? Such is a very good sign. It shows how dedicated you have been to this blog, and shows us what you can do with your many articles (That I have wholeheartedly enjoyed) I admire how honest you were by saying “18th of March, 2013, but the first post was on March 25.” It is fine though, I still have not gotten one post up yet.

    I have not recognized the existence of this blog until quite some time ago when I stumbled upon it through Kaxzc Prime (another user). Ever since then I must confess I have thoroughly been reading through each and every page, as if it was a religious book of sorts. These articles all had their fun and serious attitudes, and reading them was no job, nor chore. It was a hobby. I wish I could write these pages as good as you – but I do not envy because I do not want to give the evil eye on a good blog.

    Fire Emblem: Awakening is my forever favorite, too. Chrom is the essence of a hero and the subject of masculinity displayed in various characters throughout Fire Emblem, in all games. He is strong, of average height and his sword wields only protection – and do not forget to mention and tribute his friends, either. My favorite of his units will be Lon’Qu (if that is how you spell his name.) The storyline so far has been intriguing and legendary, surpassing some other games of FE I have in mind.

    I like this blog a lot, and have ever since I was shown it and inspired by this fantastic piece of work.

    I congratulate you on your one year experience.
    I do look forward to more.

    -Hiei

    • Oh wow, thanks for your kind comment! I really appreciate what you said. Just means that I have to continue to do my best to get you to stick around🙂

  5. We had a one year anniversary and such earlier in the month too! We’ve had little to no content though, but soon, maybe very soon, will be this flood of undesirable content.

Leave a Reply

