Top 5 Fire Emblem Hopes For 2017

fire-emblem

Happy New Year! Let’s begin 2017 by wishing for dreams to come true.

Not surprisingly, 2016 for Fire Emblem had its highs (Fates selling like crazy) and lows (the localization kerfuffle that you can’t escape from). 2017 seems to not promise too much craziness, but with what is now a major franchise like Fire Emblem, there definitely will be some news that will either be warm to our hearts or…just be simply disgusting.

With that in mind, let’s begin with 5 hopes involving Fire Emblem for 2017:

That Fire Emblem Mobile will not suck

Confession: I hate mobile games. Ok, hate is too strong, but I find no reason to waste my time downloading a game to play while I’m on the go…when I have a handheld. So you can assume I’ll be playing my first mobile game this year whenever Fire Emblem mobile comes out. I can only hope it doesn’t suck. From reading up on Super Mario Run, it seems like that game’s for the crowd that really doesn’t play Mario on the consoles, and it’s $10 to get everything. Maybe it’s worth a play, and I know I can’t expect a great FE on a mobile device — I just hope it’ll at least be interesting for a month. Then I can say it doesn’t suck.

The Tellius Series returns as an HD update

With Shadow Dragon of all Fire Emblem games getting a re-release on the Wii U virtual console, it’s almost a certainty that the two remaining series yet to get a re-release, Path of Radiance and Radiant Dawn, will find themselves on the eShop at some point. If the rumor of Gamecube games being on the Switch is true, then it makes sense to put those two games on the Switch. If not, they should be released on the eShop for the Wii U and be HD upgraded. Short of that, the better play would be to release the Tellius Series on the Nintendo Switch as an HD upgrade. It most likely won’t happen, but I would definitely welcome it.

That Fire Emblem gets involved in another crossover

Crossovers are all the rage nowadays, so if Fire Emblem happens to get involved in another crazy crossover, it should happen. Whether it’s a fighting game, a musou game, etc.

That the Cipher card game gets released here

Honestly, this is the least likely thing to happen, but from seeing some of the cards out there on the internet (at some point I do want to write something about them), maybe it’s time to have them released officially in the U.S. Yes, I will buy them with much regret.

The 15th Fire Emblem Title should be for the 3DS

I guess there’s going to be two hopes in one paragraph, but here goes: I hope the next Fire Emblem game in the series gets announced during E3 week. Just me, but I think it would be nice to showcase it there for no real reason, aside from anticipating it for an Early 2018 release (probably Spring 2018 because localization!). If they do announce it, then my hope is that it’s for the 3DS. Eventually it will (or should) get its next iteration for the Switch. But with an established 3DS base and appeal of FE on the go, and also because I kind of want to see the system get 3 Fire Emblems, I think it’d be best to continue with its success and not worry about a Switch edition yet.

About Walters

Lonely Fire Emblem fan. Almost a FE apologist.

Leave a Reply

