Fire Emblem Gaiden Returns as Fire Emblem: Shadows of Valentia

fire-emblem-gaiden-remake(Ok, it’s called Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia, but why)

Out of all the remakes to be announced in the Fire Emblem Direct, Fire Emblem Gaiden was the one I believed had no chance to come back, mostly because of its status as the black sheep of the series.

So I was flipping the fuck out immediately when I saw the two kids talking about Duma and Mila and was like, “Gaiden remake?!?”

So yeah, more thoughts on this soon, but this was one of the newest announcements of the Fire Emblem direct. Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia will be released on the 3DS May 19.

Update: Added some screenshots, and the JP trailer of Fire Emblem Echoes:

Update 2: Official artwork, and the Amiibo of Alm and Celica.

About Walters

Lonely Fire Emblem fan. Almost a FE apologist.

4 thoughts on “Fire Emblem Gaiden Returns as Fire Emblem: Shadows of Valentia

  1. Oh, this rather nice to hear since Fire Emblem Gaiden is one of the numerous Fire Emblem games I never got around to playing. Though I’m not sure if I’ll get around to playing it or not, depends on how long I spend on Persona 5.

    • Yeah, I’m wondering how much is gonna be changed, because I heard Gaiden, while definitely different gameplay wise from most FE games, has a pretty poor story. Dunno if it’s worse than Fates, though that might be because of the avatar in it. I do think Gaiden’s story will be updated though.

      • Well I did read a Siliconera article that said the game would have “animations from Studio Khara, dungeons with enemy encounters, free roaming, and flexible character progression.” I have no idea how different that is from the original Gaiden, but I would be interested in playing it.

        Though if they try to shoehorn in some kind of Avatar-type character, it’s an immediate no-buy for me. I liked Awakening and I haven’t finished Fates yet, so I’d prefer to not have another custom character game.

        I did also pre-register for the Fire Emblem mobile game, hopefully I can play it on the tablet I’m going to buy.

        • Oh no, that’s definitely gonna be different. The Famicom version can’t do cutscenes haha

          I heard the character roster for Gaiden is super small, so they’ll probably add some new characters, but I do think the avatar will be out, mostly due to balance honestly.

Leave a Reply

